Emergency Management Accreditation Program (EMAP) seal

Requests for Public Assistance Due Wednesday

Disaster recovery officials from the Nebraska Emergency Management Agency (NEMA) and FEMA urge disaster impacted Nebraska municipalities, county departments and eligible private nonprofits to get requests for public assistance (RPAs) to NEMA no later than this Wednesday, Aug. 30.

Requests for public assistance can be faxed to NEMA at 402-471-7433 or sent to Recovery Unit Supervisor Molly Bargmann at molly.bargmann@nebraska.gov. Questions can be directed to 402-471-7182.

Eligible public entities impacted by the severe storms, tornadoes, and straight-line winds must have had damage between June 12 and June 17. Federal disaster declaration, DR 4325 was declared on Aug. 1.

The 19 Nebraska counties designated for Public Assistance are: Banner, Box Butte, Butler, Cass, Cuming, Dodge, Douglas, Fillmore, Gage, Jefferson, Morrill, Platte, Polk, Sarpy, Saunders, Sheridan, Sioux, Thurston and Wayne counties.

FEMA's public assistance grant program provides federal assistance to government organizations and certain private nonprofit organizations following a Presidential disaster declaration. FEMA provides 75 percent reimbursements for eligible disaster-related infrastructure repairs (roads, bridges, parks, public utilities, etc.); disaster debris removal and emergency protective measures caused by the disaster, such as police overtime and emergency generator use.

The deadline for Platte County is Sept. 19 because Platte County was added to the disaster on Aug. 21. ALL OTHER REQUESTS MUST BE IN BY WEDNESDAY, AUG. 30.