Emergency Management Accreditation Program (EMAP) seal

2016 Nebraska Severe Weather Awareness Poster Contest Winners Named

LINCOLN – Jules Bumgardner, 9, a fourth grade student from Thomas Elementary School in Gretna (Sarpy County), earned first place in the 2016 Nebraska Severe Weather Awareness Poster Contest, sponsored by the Nebraska Association of Emergency Management (NAEM), the National Weather Service (NWS), the Nebraska Military Department and the Nebraska Emergency Management Agency (NEMA).

Bumgardner’s poster entitled “Tornado Safety” encourages people to “Be Safe, Stay Safe” and reminds people to listen for outdoor warning sirens, to stay away from windows, to go to the basement and to have items, including a whistle, food and water, ready in advance.

The contest was open to all fourth grade students in Nebraska. The top four finishers will be recognized by Gov. Pete Ricketts at a proclamation signing for Severe Weather Awareness Week, at the State Capitol on Wednesday, March 9, at 10 a.m.

Nebraska Severe Weather Awareness Week is March 21-25, and is observed to increase awareness of, and response to, severe weather hazards. A statewide tornado drill is scheduled as part of the week’s activities at 10 a.m., on Wednesday, March 23.

“We hope Nebraskans will take time during our annual Severe Weather Awareness Week to prepare for the severe weather we face in Nebraska during the spring and summer months,” said Bryan Tuma, NEMA assistant director. “Making a safety plan and reviewing proper safety precautions is a good practice for those of us who live in areas affected by tornadoes, floods and severe thunderstorms.”

Severe weather can result in tragic losses that preparation and planning can prevent. Through the poster contest, fourth graders from across the state encourage Nebraskans to follow weather safety precautions. 

The second place poster, by Lily Haas, 9, of Aurora Elementary School in Hamilton County, featured an angry tornado and cautions “Nebraska weather hits you out of nowhere!!!! Be prepared for what comes in Nebraska!!”

The third place poster, “Be Safe. Be Ready, Be Alert, Be Alive!” was entered by Thane Hardwick of Loomis Pubic School in Phelps County, and includes power lines being struck by lightning and a tornado hitting a home.

The fourth place poster, by Mason Remmers of Thayer Central School, reminds people “Beware for a scare. Watch Out for Lightning’s Warfare” and features a tree being struck by lightning.

Posters were judged on originality, effort and accuracy. The top prize is a $125 gift card, second is $100 and third $75, all provided by NAEM. NWS provides a $50 gift card for fourth place. NEMA provides certificates for all the students and the Nebraska Military Department mats the posters as a remembrance for students.


First       Jules Bumgardner, 9, Sarpy County, Thomas Elementary School
Second Lily Haas, 9, Aurora, Hamilton County, Aurora Elementary School
Third     Thane Hardwick, 9, Phelps County, Loomis Public School
Fourth  Mason Remmers, 10, Hebron, Thayer County, Thayer Central School


Honorable mention in alphabetical order:

Abby Anderson, 9, Hartington, Cedar County, Hartington-Newcastle Public School
Callie Cantrall, 9, Colon, Saunders County, St. Wenceslaus
Avery Collins, 10, Beatrice, Gage County, Paddock Lane Elementary
Jayla Davis, 10, North Platte, Lincoln County, Lake Maloney School
Jordan Hauschel, 9, Fairbury, Jefferson County, Jefferson Intermediate School
Harper Kelsay, 10, Omaha, Sarpy County, Whitetail Creek Elementary
Anna Krusemark, 10, Pender, Thurston County, Pender Public School
Mason Mackeprang, 10, Bloomfield, Knox County, Bloomfield Community School
Ella Mitchell, 10, Bassett, Rock County, Bassett Grade School
Saryn Prickett, 9, Alma, Harlan County, Alma Public Schools
Reese Reilly, 10, St. Paul, Howard County, St. Paul Elementary
Lauren Taylor, 9, Elkhorn, Douglas County, Fire Ridge Elementary
Nevada West, 9, Falls City, Richardson County, Falls City South School

The Severe Weather Awareness Week Packet 2016 is available from the National Weather Service at: http://goo.gl/pBZiHN

Note: Pictures of the winning posters are available here. Pictures of the winners with their posters will be sent via email March 18 following the proclamation signing ceremony.