Your browser's Javascript setting is currently DISABLED!
JavaScript MUST be enabled to use this system. Errors will occur in processing if JavaScript is not enabled in your browser's 'Internet Options' or 'Preferences' settings.


The mission of the Preparedness Section is to provide support to local governments and state agencies in establishing policies, plans, guidelines and procedures that allow emergency resources to function effectively and be utilized as a team when a disaster or emergency occurs. Additionally, the Section provides support with training and exercises that enhance the state and local government's ability to function in an emergency situation. This Section is responsible for the coordination of activities of the Governor's Homeland Security Policy Group, carrying out projects as identified by the Homeland Security Senior Advisory Council and approved by the Governor.

The Preparedness Section works with local, state and federal partners to ensure that Nebraska is prepared to deal with disasters. The section is made up of two units: the grants unit, which administers the state's Homeland Security grant programs and the planning unit, which assists county and state emergency management personnel create and maintain emergency operations plans and oversees the state's Citizen Corps and Medical Reserve Corps programs.