Emergency Management Accreditation Program (EMAP) seal

Dawes County Fire Burns 1,800 Acres

A wind-driven wildfire in Dawes County east of the village of Whitney burned nearly 1,800 acres of grassland Tuesday while firefighters from five volunteer fire departments, the U.S. Forest Service and two single engine air tankers (SEAT) worked to extinguish the blaze.

Nebraska Emergency Management Agency authorized use of the SEAT to fight what is being called the Lone Tree Fire at the request of Region 23 Emergency Management Director Nan Gould. Due to the size and speed of the fire, the SEAT out of Hot Springs, S.D. was also requested.

Acting Gov. Mike Foley signed an emergency declaration to pay for disaster response out of the Governor’s emergency fund. Gov. Pete Ricketts is out of the country on a trade mission to Japan.

Great ShakeOut Earthquake Drill is Oct. 15

No community is immune from natural disasters, and earthquakes are just one of the hazards Nebraskans could face. With that in mind, Nebraska Emergency Management Agency (NEMA) is encouraging participation in the Great ShakeOut, a worldwide earthquake drill, Oct. 15 at 10:15 a.m.

“Although earthquakes are rare in Nebraska, they are still a potential risk and are one of the natural disasters that we plan for here at NEMA,” said Bryan Tuma, assistant director. “For the Great ShakeOut, take a minute out of your day to drop, cover and hold on, and think about what you would do during an actual earthquake.”

16 Nebraska Counties Added to Disaster Declaration

The major disaster declaration for the State of Nebraska has been amended to include 16 counties adversely affected by the event declared a major disaster by President Barack Obama in his declaration of June 25. Damage assessments on the additional 16 counties were completed after the initial request was submitted. The newly added counties are: Adams, Arthur, Box Butte, Clay, Dawes, Fillmore, Hamilton, Hayes, Johnson, Nemaha, Pawnee, Richardson, Seward, Sioux, Wayne and. Nebraska Gov. Pete Ricketts received notification Friday from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) that the additional counties had been added to the disaster declaration. The declaration was made following severe storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds and flooding from May 6 to June 17.

NEMA, Lt. Governor’s Office announce 10th Annual Nebraska Infrastructure Protection Conference

The Nebraska Infrastructure Protection Council announced the line-up for the 2015 Nebraska Infrastructure Protection Conference (NIPC) in which Nebraska businesses, private industry and nonprofit representatives are encouraged to participate, Sept. 1-2, at the LaVista Conference Center, 12520 Westport Parkway.

The two-day conference will kick off September as National Preparedness Month by focusing on various topics pertaining to security and preparedness including several presentations on cyber security and cyber-incident response, threat assessments, active shooter events, fuel transportation safety, climate change and its effect on infrastructure, built infrastructure stability and lessons learned from private sector companies to current events such as recent rioting.

President Approves Federal Disaster Declaration for Severe Storms, Tornadoes, Straight-line Winds, Flooding from May 6 to June 17

Nebraska Gov. Pete Ricketts received notification Thursday from Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) officials that President Barack Obama approved a request for a presidential disaster declaration for parts of Nebraska impacted by severe storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds and flooding from May 6 to June 17.

The president, through FEMA, issued a public assistance declaration that provides assistance for emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities in the following counties: Cass, Dundy, Gage, Jefferson, Lancaster, Lincoln, Morrill, Nuckolls, Otoe, Saline, Saunders, and Thayer. The declaration allows federal emergency funding to be used in providing assistance to state and local governmental agencies and some nonprofit organizations. It also includes federal funding on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures for all counties in the state.